[This text was originally published in AREA Chicago #8 in May 2009]


Edited by Daniel Tucker

Designed by Jerome Grand

Copyediting Ashley Weger, Chuck Dadamo and Lauren Cumbia

Project Advisors Kristen Cox, Eric Triantafillou and Rebecca Zorach

Current Advisors Laurie Palmer, Beth G, Martha Boyd, Amanda Gutierrez, Salem Collo-Julin, Chris Cutrone, Charles Vinz, David Marques, David Omotoso Stovall, Erica Meiners, Euan Hague, Gabriel Piemonte, Jerome Grand, Jake Elliott, Jason Reblando, Jayne Hileman, Karen Reyes, Laurie Jo Reynolds, Lisa Lee, Mairead Case, Micah Maidenberg, Dave Pabellon, Nick Krietman, Michelle Vannatta, Ryan Hollon, Therese Quinn, Daniel Tucker, Dakota Brown, Rebecca Zorach, Rachel Wallis, Abby Satinsky

Fiscal Sponsor Experimental Station

Support AREA Each issue requires a minimum of $7,000 to produce. Every little bit counts.

To make an online donation see

To write a check, please may payment to “Experimental Station” (write AREA Chicago Donation in the memo line) and mail to AREA Chicago, P.O. Box 476971, Chicago, IL 60647.

Share other resources like printing, computers, food, your skills, cars for delivering the publication and many more things we cannot anticipate until you step up and propose them. Email if you have something to offer.

Internships AREA is now accepting interns for 3, 6 or 12 month periods. Get in touch if you are interested. Internships are unpaid.

Another Chicago Our email newsletter is newly named Another Chicago and is a great way to keep up to date with this project and tons of other events and initiatives throughout Chicago. Email to subscribe.

Contributors Group Would you like to help AREA Chicago? We are always looking for new collaborators. You can write or copy edit for the publication, distribute the paper, volunteer at events, hold a fundraiser, write a grant proposal, do an interview, contribute blog posts, propose new ideas, help with outreach, make food and a lot more. If you are interested, email

Teachers Board If you are interested in using AREA in the classroom, please get in touch to discuss curriculum ideas.

Thanks to the Orientation Center, Lisa Lee and Hull House Museum for hosting our 68/08 project last fall, Neighborhood Writing Alliance (Carrie, Rupal, Mairead), Melville House Press, Claire Pentecost, Lauren Cumbia; Lisa Sousa and Aaron Sarver—our advisory group members who moved south this year.

Funding for this issue came from:

The people who offered their skills and services for our annual Wants and Needs auction: Rachel Wallis, James Tracy, Nance Klehm, Lorenza Perelli, Mairead Case, Abigail Satinsky, Laurie Palmer, Karen Reyes , Frank Edwards, Robin Hewlett and Backstory Cafe, Sarah Ross, Rebecca Zorach, Bruce E. Wiest, Mark Shipley, Aay Preston-Myint, Bill Ayers, Justin Goh, Jerome Grand, Ryan Hollon, jayne hileman, Cassie Fennell, Left Turn Magazine

Special Thanks to the Lorenza Perelli and Andrew Sonnenschein family for hosting the AREA auction party at their home. To Jerome Grand, Aaron Sarver, Beth G, Rebecca Zorach, Ryan Hollon, David Marques, Jeff Parker, Justin Goh, Dakota Brown, Mairead Case, Todd Tucker, Lauren Cumbia and Charles Vinz for their help making the event wonderful.

Many thanks to the people who placed winning bids on skills and services in the auction: Lauren N. Cumbia, Dan Wang, Jessica Pupovac, Erica Meiners, Micah Maidenberg, Anjuli Maniam, Rebecca Zorach, Nicholas Brown, Karen Reyes, Frank Edwards, Bryce Dwyer, Charlie Vinz, Raul Islas, Nicole Garneau, Jerome Grand, Rozalinda Borcila, Mandy Hu, Daniel Tucker, Bethany Lape, Beth G, Edward Marszewski, Andrew Sonnenschein and Benjamin R. Helphand and more. Thanks to the people who came out for the event and had a drink, made a loosing bid, took a photo in the photo booth, or bought a t-shirt.

Funding also came from the individual donations of Kathleen H. McInerney, Rachel Wallis, Mairead Case, Julie Shapiro, James Tracy, Amanda L. Browder, Richard Prelinger, Erica Meiners, Fereshteh Toosi, Kristen Cox, Deborah Epstein, David Baumann, Anne J. Knepler, Michael S. Thomas, Erika Mikkalo, Stephen Macek, Deidra A. Grimm, Jennifer L. Breckner, Robert Alwalee, Salem Collo-Julin, Faith Wilding, Maggie Schmitt, Janet Smith, Ryan Griffis, Carrie Spitler, Michael Bancroft, Euan Hague, Mary Patten, Jennifer Malloy, Jayne D. Hileman, Rebecca Zorach, Laurie Palmer, Charles P. Dadamo, Justin R. Smith and Rozalinda E. Borcila. (This accounts for individual donations from September 2009-December 2009. Appologies if your name was somehow left off.)

The organizations who purchased $10, $20, and $40 Adlistings in this issue of AREA.

Additional funding of $500 came from the Fire This Time Fund

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s